top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennifer Summers

Friends

Updated: Nov 2, 2020

I usually write a lot of sad poems, I suppose because I'm usually sad, but this is a poem about my friends and they make me happy without fail.

.

.

.

I want to build a den in all of my friends' heads,

and live there snuggled under a blanket.


I want to buy all of their favourite music and only listen to that.

Mitski will become my heartbeat.

Lorde a hymn to praise.

FKA for breakfast.


I want to cook them all their favourite food and pour their favourite wine into their favourite glass.

Even if it's Tesco's finest Portuguese rose and she bought it because the bottle was a funny shape.


I want to listen to them sing without my body,

without my brain to interrupt my soul from dancing how I want.


I want to be a sponge,

porous for only their tears,

and a shoulder for only their heads.


I want to be theirs and with them always,

to lose ourselves together in laughter,

and love until time disappears.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

mine

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page